Sunday, 20 October 2019


Prize giving at the Mercury Bay Boating Club

Prize giving at the Mercury Bay Boating Club

Mercury Bay Boating Club held its annual prize giving on Saturday 17 May. The evening was well attended and everyone had a good time.

The following club members were recognised for their achievements -

John Jackman (third place in the Bay Series and winner of Toby’s Mug for the Cuvier Island race).

Mike Phear (Winner of the Bay Series Trophy).

Tate Lidgard (Winner of the Ross Family Shield for the most improved sailor).

Alexander Nielsen (Winner of the Junior Skipper Trophy).

Floyd Ross (Winner of the Dingy Race Cup for Under 16 Boys).

Ian Hogg (Winner of the Multihull Line Honours Shield).

Belinda Wallace (Winner of the Polar Bear Trophy - Winter Series).

Carol Boswell (Winner of the Steinlager Series).

Russell Chaney (Winner of the Millennium Trophy - New Years Day Race)

Tim Johnston – Club Commodore (Winner of Trailer Sailor Line Honours Cup, the Overall Line Honours Shield and the Flaxmill Bay Trophy).

Matt Algie (Winner of the Beiby Barometer - Singled Handed Race).



Should the voting age be lowered to 16 years of age?

The Mercury Bay Informer is a highly popular community newspaper, based in Whitianga. The paper is distributed throughout the Coromandel Peninsula, coast to coast from Thames to north of Colville.