top of page

Boating Club ‘in good heart’

Story and photos by Dorothy Preece.

Mercury Bay Boating Club is still afloat, out on the water and thanks to local businesses and sponsors, in good financial heart, despite its ongoing clubhouse woes.

This was strongly demonstrated at the club’s AGM and prizegiving function at Mercury Bay Club on Saturday night. The most senior club members said it was good to see so many keen young sailors in the Junior Division.

The matter of Consents for the relocation of the clubhouse was high on the agenda. Members were told that, while a lot of work is going on behind the scenes, all the relevant Consent Applications have been lodged, and it is now a case of waiting for all the various Authorities to make their decisions.

At the meeting, 17-year-old Josie Fairweather was appointed to the Committee for another year as its Junior Sailing Representative. Outgoing Commodore, Jonathan Kline, and newly elected Commodore, Simon Rawlinson, presented the club’s historic and impressive collection of silverware to this year’s winners, beginning with the Junior Division.

Junior Division Winners:

The winner of the Collins Family Trophy for excellence in solo dinghy sailing was awarded to Josie Fairweather. In presenting the trophy, Jonathan Kline commented that Josie was just able to make the weight requirement for a Laser sailor, by dousing her father’s sweatshirt in the water to add a couple of kilos.

Green Fleet Trophy (for consistency), Dasheil Wallace. Dinghy Race Cup (Boys), Zach Greenfield. Dinghy Race Cup (Girls) Lena Carse. Ross Family Shield (courage and determination), Kael Robertson.Monty Harris Memorial Trophy (greatest improvement) Herb Harwood and Leon Lingard. Hewlett Packard Trophy (solo and double-handed), Thomas Scobie. Liberty Cup (excellent attitude), Charlie Bay and Ian Choi. Watt Cup (best forward hand), Thomas Scobie. Line Honours Trophy (Multihull), Josie Fairweather and Zac Greenfield. Line Honours Trophy (Monohull), Josie Fairweather.

Senior Division Winners:

Polar Bear Series, G. Butler El Viento. Johnston Family Cup (Spring Series), R. Fulton Titoki. Bay Series, T. Johnston Second Nature. Steinlager Series, M.Algie Blueprint. Offshore Series, G.Butler El Viento. Multihull Division Line Honours, P. Hart Deep Purple. Best Trailer Sailor, P. Hart Deep Purple. Millennium Cup, G. Butler El Viento. Castle Rock Race, T. Johnston Second Nature. John Dwen Memorial Trophy (Slipper Island Race), G.Butler El Viento. Bartlett Cup, M. Algie Blueprint. Bielby Barometer, M.Algie Blueprint. HMS Buffalo Trophy (Polar Bear Series), M. Algie Blueprint. MB Service Station Cup for best attendance, R. Fulton Titoki. Challenge Trophy (sportsmanship) E. Baumberger Wairua. B.O.A.T. Gnome Trophy (Bum Outs and Tall Stories) C. Reinsfield Pterodactyl, for a broken mast. Rick Swain Memorial Trophy for Service and Dedication to the Club: This year the trophy was awarded posthumously to John Jackman, who died on Tuesday, 18 April. For many years John had been an avid supporter of the club in every capacity, from racing on the water to race organiser to handyman. His wife Larissa received the trophy.

Caption: Youth sailors are well represented in Mercury Bay.


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page